A Minor in Possession (MIP) charge in Georgia is usually a misdemeanor, and the consequences vary. Possession charges can result in jail time, an automatic 6-month license suspension, fines, community service or probation.
This punishment is not as strict as it is in some states, such as Florida or Illinois, where the use of a fake is a felony with a fine of up to $100,000 and sometimes up to 10 years in prison.
To combat usage of fake IDs, many states in recent years have added extra decoration, such as pictures and designs, to their licenses to make them harder to fake.
Watch To His Has More Changes Rapidly As Language Slang Wsj Expert One such example is California, which uses a tactile date of birth and signature, illustrations of well-known California landmarks in the background, and an ultraviolet photo and date of birth. Additionally, for minors, the card’s orientation is vertical, whereas for people of age horizontal format is used.
But store owners around Atlanta say they don’t need fancy decorations to identify a fake ID.
The Signal spoke to a liquor store owner who wished to remain anonymous. Their store lies half a mile from campus, and they said students often attempt to become a part of their customer base.